The story of the hideouts goes at least back to the Middle ages, when the inhabitants of the village Naours found shelter whenever dangerous groups advanced. Forgotten and reopended again at the end of the 19th century, this underground city with 300 rooms created in the rock, it becomes a touristical attraction. Far enough behind the front in 1914-18, it is up to thousands of soldiers of the British Empire to discover this site and to leave their names on the chalk stone. During the guided tour the stories of some of the 3000 graffiti on the walls are brought back to life. The museum of the silent soldiers highlights the stories with extra photos and objects.
The temperature in the Naours underground hideouts is 9 °C.